ERICK J. COOLIDGE COMMISSIONER

MARK L. HAMILTON COMMISSIONER

M. SUE VOGLER COMMISSIONER



SAMUEL A. GREENE
ADMINISTRATOR

DEREK D. WILLIAMS
CHIEF CLERK

Phone 570-724-5766 1-800-242-5766 (PA) Fax 570-724-6757

Department of Human Services

1873 Shumway Hill Road Wellsboro, PA 16901

J2654.

August 15, 2008

The Honorable Frank Louis Oliver Majority Chairperson House Health and Human Services Committee Room 34E East Wing Harrisburg, PA 17120-2195

The Honorable George T. Kenney, Jr. Minority Chairperson House Health and Human Services Committee Room 108 Ryan Office Building Harrisburg, PA 17120-2170

Mr. Kim Kaufman Executive Director Independent Regulatory Review Commission 14<sup>th</sup> Floor, 333 Market Street Harrisburg, PA 17101 The Honorable Edwin B. Ericksen Majority Chairperson Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee 281 Main Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120-3026

The Honorable Vincent J. Hughes Minority Chairperson Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee 543 Main Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

RE: Department of Health Regulation, 4 Pa. Code § 255.5

Dear Honorable Committee Chairpersons and Director Kaufman:

We are writing to express our support for the proposed revisions to the Department of Health's regulations relating to the confidentiality of drug and alcohol treatment records, 4 Pa. Code § 255.5. As a Single County Authority, the Tioga County Drug and Alcohol Program, under the auspices of the Tioga County Department of Human Services, provides planning and administrative oversight for the provision of drug and alcohol services at the local level, and we believe that the proposed revisions to Pennsylvania's drug and alcohol confidentiality regulations are in the best interest of our clients. In short, these changes to the confidentiality regulations will help our clients to access safe, quality care.

The proposed revisions will empower clients by giving them the right to control their own medical information. Recognition of these client rights will provide additional tools to assist them in their recovery. The manner in which the system currently operates under the existing 4 Pa. Code § 255.5 limits effective treatment delivery because providers can be prohibited from releasing information, even when clients give their consent. Without the ability to share basic information, clients cannot get the services they need. Under the proposed revision, clients will have the choice to release information in order to access clinically appropriate services.

Opponents of the proposed revisions claim the new regulations will hurt client privacy. We do not agree with this stance for the following reasons. First, the essence of privacy is the ability of the client to direct what personal information is disclosed and to whom it is disclosed. The proposed revisions will only increase these privacy rights by eliminating unnecessary limitations on the client's ability to authorize appropriate disclosure of information. Second, if these proposed changes are approved, Pennsylvania will continue to have one of the strongest drug and alcohol confidentiality regulations in the country. Personal information will continue to be protected by the Pennsylvania regulations, federal drug and alcohol confidentiality regulations, federal HIPAA regulations and the Pennsylvania Drug and Alcohol Abuse Control Act.

We urge you to approve these needed revisions to Pennsylvania's drug and alcohol confidentiality regulations. The proposed changes offer a positive, client-controlled solution that will ensure our clients receive needed substance use treatment services to support long term recovery, while their personal information remains appropriately protected.

Sincerely,

Samuel Greene III, Administrator

Tioga County Department of Human Services

Timothy McBride, Vice-Chairperson

Tioga County Department of Human Services Advisory Board and Tioga County Drug and

Alcohol Planning Council

cc: Honorable Tim Seip
Honorable John Myers
Honorable Eddie Day Pashinski
Honorable Jake Wheatley
Honorable Kerry A. Benninghoff
Honorable Douglas G. Reichley

Honorable Curtis G. Sonney

Honorable Louise Williams Bishop

Honorable Angel Cruz

Honorable Lawrence H. Curry

Honorable Thaddeus Kirkland

Honorable Kathy Manderino

Honorable Barbara McIlvaine Smith

Honorable Phyllis Mundy

Honorable Tony J. Payton, Jr.

Honorable Frank Andrews Shimkus

Honorable Ken Smith

Honorable Ronald G. Waters

Honorable Bryan Cutler

Honorable Maureen Gingrich

Honorable Rob W. Kauffman

Honorable Beverly Mackereth

Honorable Fred McIlhattan

Honorable Chris Ross

Honorable John Taylor

Honorable Katie True

Honorable Katharine M. Watson

Honorable Patricia H. Vance

Honorable Joseph B. Scarnati, III

Honorable Lisa Baker

Honorable Jane Clare Orie

Honorable Mary Jo White

Honorable Robert C. Wonderling

Honorable Jay Costa

Honorable Shirley M. Kitchen

Honorable Leanna M. Washington